Hogsmead and more

October 9, 2008 at 1:17 am (Uncategorized)

This week has been crazy.  My potions book from BB came on Friday.  I set to work tranlating some of the more fun potions.  On Saturday we went to Hogsmead and went shopping.  I am going to have to be more careful with my translations.  In Potions class I discovered a translation error that resulted in a lovely fizzy mess and detention.  I don’t know what Elanor got for detention but I’m stuck washing caldrons and cleaning the ingredients cupboard.  I have more cobwebs in my hair then when we cleaned Grandmother’s attic. I hope the potions teacher can read my handwriting.  I am afraid I sneezed more than once and the ink ran a bit.

After shopping for potion ingredients we went to have a few drinks.  I learned a new American game.  I have no idea what the rules are, except that I get to drink whatever nasty stuff is in the cup in Elanor has the quarter.  Later I played billiards.  It was quite fun.  I never knew that the time my uncles spent teaching me to play would prove so useful.  Papa has forbidden me to do it again.  He is afraid taking their money will upset the people in town and get me into trouble at school.

After a while the girls began singing.  Luckily I didn’t know any of the words and didn’t have to join them. The dancing was a bit risque.  One of the people in the bar made a comment about Tia and her hips and Rufus punched him in the face. After the barkeeper got everyone stopped and threw out Rufus and the other man we had a few more quiet drinks and went back to school.

Petunia got sick later and Elanor had to take her to the infirmary.  I did my best to clean up the mess while Elanor was gone.  I swear I can still smell the pumpkin juice in that part of the common room.  I am a little afraid to make the eau de sante that I know would make the smell go away.  I’m not sure that I have the right herb and I don’t want a purple foaming mess to replace the pumpkin juice. Perhaps it would be better to send an owl to Grandmere and have her send me the ingredients or some of the potion.

Leave a Reply

